BACK
A Frost Moon Eclipse Will Be Visible in the Sky Tonight
www.yahoo.com

A Frost Moon Eclipse Will Be Visible in the Sky Tonight

Here’s when to spot it.

Social & Lifestyle

Gather around, sky gazers: A Frost Moon will be visible in the night sky at the end of this month. Not only will you get to bear witness to a full moon, but it’ll also be a faint eclipse. You won’t want to miss it!

Depending on where you live, the Frost Moon will be visible in the early hours of November 30 or late on November 29. Here’s when you can expect to see the solar wonder, according to EarthSky:

Eastern Standard Time (EST): 4:43 a.m. (November 30)

Continue reading...

Central Standard Time:(CST): 3:43 a.m. (November 30)

Mountain Standard Time:(MST): 2:43 a.m. (November 30)

Pacific Standard Time (PST): 1:43 a.m. (November 30)

Alaska Standard Time (AKST): 12:43 a.m. (November 30)

Hawaii Standard Time (HST): 11:43 p.m. (November 29)

The Frost Moon will look full for about two to three days but will be astronomically full for only an instant. The November full moon is also known as the Beaver Moon or Mourning Moon. The various names come from Native American groups who used the moon to track the seasons, according to The Old Farmer’s Almanac.

The eclipse will be visible to the eye for about an hour, but it’ll be so faint that some people “will swear nothing is happening even while staring straight at it,” EarthSky reports. It will appear as a subtle shading on the moon. Now that you know what to look for, good luck spotting it!